Skip to content

Collectible Items IRL (In Real Life) Travel

November 12, 2011

Many video games, especially the role-playing/adventure types usually have sidequests where the goal is to collect certain items. Usually these items are not really essential to finishing the overall game, but getting a complete set can bag you extra trophies, special weapons or abilities when you play the game again, or just bragging points.

Among the memorable collectible items in games I have played are those rare cards from the Triple Triad card minigame in Final Fantasy VIII, the insanely hard to complete 100 stray beads from the game Okami, , and memories and bottles (among others) in the game I’m currently playing – Alice: The Madness Returns.

Because of this, I’ve recently started collections based on real life travel. Since I don’t have the space to start a physical collection (like magnets or t-shirts) I’m taking photos of the items instead, which I will update in my “Menu screen” (Facebook page). Here are the missions I’m doing so far:

Key Master

  • Mission: Check into 99 different hotels and take photos of room keys
  • Current status: 15/99 (this year only)

I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels and resorts for work and personal travel over the years,  but I only thought of taking photos of the room keys this year. There’s something about keys that I find really interesting. I think you can tell the character of each room by the keys. My goal is to reach 99 keys, but if I can surpass that, that would be great.

99 bottles of Beer 
  • Mission: Try out 99 different brands of beer from all over the world
  • Current status: 50/99

I make it a point to try the local brew of other countries when traveling abroad. I also found some foreign beers on sale last October at the grocery, so I raided those I hadn’t tried before. Some friends and relatives have also very nicely taken home a couple of cans of beers from their trips abroad to add to the collection.

Favorites so far include Beerlao from Laos, Hoegaarden from Belgium, and Guinness from Ireland (7.5% ABV!). At P13.50 per bottle, the worst tasting (for me) so far is Beer na Beer. Hitachino Nest from Japan (flavored with coriander, orange peel and nutmeg) is currently the most expensive, costing P250.00 per bottle. The most interesting is the Oaked Arrogant Bastard Ale (tagline: “You’re not worthy”), which is really bitter with a fruity aftertaste.

To view the updated collections, like Travel Up on Facebook and check out the albums there.

Do you have your own travel collection? What other interesting collections can you suggest?🙂

Credits: Photos by Kara Santos. Skeleton key vector silhouette by Taeliac Stock on Deviant Art. Beer bottle vector from Open Clip Art. Triple Triad in FFVIII, Stray beads in Okami, Bottles in Alice. 
10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2011 5:34 am

    I love this post! The idea of collecting stuff from travels is awesome. I send myself postcards every one in a while. It’s a great welcome upon coming back. My boyfriend collects beer bottles from all over the world so I got him a Myanmar Beer bottle. But it got stuck in Indonesian customs. Oh well, it’s another reason to go back. Love your blog!

    • November 13, 2011 3:12 am

      Thanks Lois! Postcards really make a great collection esp. if they have all the stamps and are sent by postal mail. I like the idea of collecting beer bottles, but we’re running out of space (we have a “beer garden” in the balcony now of the best bottles). I guess the photo collections will have to do. Wow, Myanmar Beer!

  2. November 13, 2011 2:21 am

    Waaaaah this is really cool!!!!😀

    Actually I’ve been thinking of what to collect during trips but I found it medyo hassle to buy magnets and keychains and other stuff kasi… well what are we gonna do with it all of it after diba?

    Waaa natutuwa ako sa post mo! I miss playing RPG games and ngayon ko lang din na realize na why not do what Squall and Cloud have been doing and collecting random items? Hahaha. But instead of taking the actual things, pictures na lang para hindi hassle.

    But I think my thing is taking fashion shots sa mga trips. Lol.

    • November 13, 2011 3:04 am

      You play Final Fantasy too!🙂 Nice. I remember replaying FF8 so I could complete all those Pet Pals and Timber Maniacs magazines to get better limit breaks and moves. Would like to collect photos of weapons too. Pang Lookbook nga yung photos mo. I think your fashion shots in front of landmarks are really cool! :p

  3. November 13, 2011 2:54 pm

    ang galing naman! gawin ko nga rin yun keys, pero yung mga interesting keys lang 🙂

    • November 14, 2011 1:27 am

      Thanks Christian. Am wondering what other random items related to travel would make cool collections.

  4. November 14, 2011 12:53 am

    I’m envious of the beer collection. Andami mo nang napuntahan!❤ Eh puro SML at Red Horse pa lang naiinom ko eh.

    • November 14, 2011 1:21 am

      Disclaimer: Most of the beers were bought from various grocery stores here in Manila! How I wish I could visit all of the countries they’re from just for a beer tour. Hehe. :p

  5. November 14, 2011 9:45 am

    This is an awesome idea, why haven’t I thought of this before? Not into collecting keychains / ref magnets from places i go to like my other friends do but this is an awesomesauce idea!

Leave a Reply

